lifestyle · Uncategorized

My Weight Journey and goals

Hello everyone and welcome back to my blog.
Today I would like to talk about health – weight, exercise, eating and my goals within each of these areas.

I have always struggled to maintain my weight and a healthy body. I have never done any crash diets, just always tried to watch what I eat however this wasn’t always the case and so I tended to fluctuate. I managed to maintain my weight pretty well through my late teens and most of my twenties. However in my late twenties I suffered from a hernia that needed an operation to repair. It took me around 6 months to recover completely and during that time I was unable to do any exercise and was sat around a lot which led to me eating through boredom.
During those 6 months I put on around 2/3 stone in weight and now 10 years later I am still struggling to get back to what I was before the operation.

In 2018 I decided to start following slimming world and lost some weight though not a lot as I wasn’t being strict with following it.
After speaking to a close friend over Christmas of that year she suggested I take up running as it was the only thing that worked for her. I half heartedly agreed but didn’t give it much more thought until the end of December when she got me to agree to a 5k fun run.
Fast forward a couple of months to February and I still hadn’t started running (the 5k was in June) and realised I really needed to do some training.
My 1st ever run was on 7th Feb and I was terrible, could hardly breath or move after and only managed to run a measly 1k lol.
After that I set my goal and began running with my friend 3 times a week and it wasn’t long until I actually began to look forward to and enjoy my runs. I got to 4k 3 times a week and managed to do the 5k fun run with only a bit of walking.
Once the fun run was done I took a couple of weeks off to let my body recover (what I told myself anyway) and this ended up with me not running for nearly a year. I did manage to get back to it at the start of 2020 and realised how much both my body and my mind had missed the running.

I then slipped a disc in my back at work and needed an operation so haven’t been able to run since. I am able to restart all exercise at the end of January (next weekend)
My weight at the beginning of January was 12st 12lbs and as of this morning I am already down to 12st 9.5lbs so am heading in the right direction and aim to keep going that way.

My goals for 2021 are

  • build up to running 4k/5k each run
  • to run 3 times per week
  • to start practicing Pilates
  • to lose 2 stone by Dec 2021
  • to be stricter on following slimming world/healthy eating
  • to log my meals
  • to do less snacking
  • to blog my way though my weight loss
  • to drop 1 or 2 dress size(s)

I can’t wait to get back into running which is something I never thought I’d say.
If you would like to keep up with my progress don’t forget to pop back, I am aiming to post a weight update every Sunday.

This is what I am and my goal to be

If anyone would like to join me on these goals just leave a comment below, also if you have any hints, tips or just any thoughts about weight, fitness and health feel free to leave a comment.

Leave a comment