lifestyle

Living with pain

I think this is a post that many of my readers will be able to relate to in one way or another. Some of us have episodes of pain throughout our lives and some of us live in constant pain, others care for people who live with pain.

Both my parents fall into the later category so I know what effect it can have on peoples quality of life.
My dad has had a back operation and both knees replaced. One of which has not gone to plan and has left him in constant agony. He may need to go back in for further surgery at some point in the future to try to correct it some.

My mum has had two operations on her back to try to deal with slipped disks. This has worked to some extent but she is still on a range of tablets to manage her pain and allow her to live a semi normal life but she is still limited to what she can do.

I just have episodes of pain. Normally when I manage to injure myself due to being so clumsly lol.

At the moment I am having physiotherapy due to a dropped shoulder blade and muscle issues.
I have suffered with sciatica pain in my back for a couple of years – luckily for me unless I do something stupid I can live a normal life pain free for most of it.
However I managed to trip and have caused my sciatica to be so painful I am struggling to move.
Just thought I would post a bit about Sciatica so that people are aware as I think back pain is not talked about enough. You hear people say all the time that they have a bad back however after suffering yourself (or knowing people who suffer) you know that what most people get is a back ache which results from muscle strain.
I’m not belittling anyone who says this as most people think they have a bad back – this is only my opinion

What is Sciatica? 

Sciatica is when the sciatic nerve, which runs from your hips to your feet, is irritated. It usually gets better in 4 to 6 weeks but can last longer. (from NHS website)

I find that once you get this your back becomes weak and it can re-occur at any point in your life.

I started running last year and found that when I was doing so I didn’t suffer from sciatica at all, I think this is due to the muscles in and around my back being stronger.

Have any of you ever suffered with a serious back (or any other) injury?
What was it? How did it affect your life?
What (if anything) did you find helped?

 

Leave a comment