planning

Business planner

Today I thought I would show you all how I have set up and use my business A5 planner.
My planner is used for both my dressmaking business Sirinadesigns as well as this blog/YouTube for Tinanorgansiedhome(TOH). To help differentiate throughout my planner I colour code –  Sirinadesigns sheets are cream, TOH sheets are green.
I have left links to shops that I have used if applicable – I have no affiliates with them just a happy customer.

The planner itself is from Paperchase –  they no longer sell any of the planners I own.
This one is in constant use and also travels with me 90% of the time so has been battered a bit with the victim being the strap closure which has ripped slightly. This is in no way a reflection of the quality as all my other planners are still going great, this is just where I wasn’t taking care when opening the planner.

The planner came complete with dividers and inserts.
All of the dividers are still there – I have just re – labeled them to my needs.
The inserts have in the main been removed and used in my other planners.

So to the nitty-gritty of my planner.

In the front pockets I just keep a couple of business cards, a business postcard, a small to do pad (that came with the planner) and some stickers that I use frequently (from plannerface on etsy)

My 1st divider is my Diary section –  also used as a fly-leaf for anything that pops up during the day that I need to note. I write it on a post it and attach to this divider until I have chance to add it to the relevant section of my planner.

In this section I have a month on two pages (filofax sheets) and week on one page (from simply plan designs) inserts.
The monthly is used as a blog planner for this channel as well as any appointments/ custom dresses being made for Sirinadesigns
The weekly pages are where I note each day what needs to be done related to both Sirinadesigns and Tinanorgansiedhome. If I am having a particularly busy day then I will add a day per page into the middle of my weeks (from peanuts planner co)

In the end of this section I also have some inserts that came with the planner that I re-purposed:
Timetable – now used as a rough guide to what I should be doing each day and how long for. I always refer to this when I fill in my weekly pages. I find this helps keep me on track and stops me from procrastinating (or browsing Instagram/blogs)
Recurring dates – this I now use to note all the wedding fairs that are on throughout the year.

The 2nd divider is for everything business so is labelled Sirinadesigns
In this section I have the following inserts:

To do sheets (Peanuts planner co)
Recurring task for the year (I made this myself)
A products in progress/ products in planning page (using to do sheets from peanuts planner co)
Lined paper (peanuts planner co)
Graph paper (peanuts planner co)
A plain piece of paper in case I want to doodle anything.

I then have a vellum insert (made myself) to divide TOH and then have the same inserts as for Sirinadesigns with the exception of products as I don’t make anything (yet lol)

3rd divider is for all things Social Media related
The first insert is a yearly planner from simply plan designs that I use to track my followers on my 3 main platforms.
The section is then divided up using bookmarks I have made into
Instagram:
I have a list of Instagram hashtags to use when I post
Twitter:
A list of Twitter hours that I sometimes part take in.
For both the above I am also trying to find a way to log when I post, what I post and how many likes/impressions it receives plus the hashtags used.
Blog:
A week on one page (with planner) that I have some ideas of monthly series topics I want to cover.
A page with series ideas and a page with post ideas (again using to do sheets from peanuts planner co)
I have one of each sheet for Sirinadesigns and TOH
YouTube:
This  has pages for video ideas (to do sheets) and a lined notes page (both from peanuts planner co)

4th divider is Budget
I have a sheet for incoming and outgoings for both Sirinadesigns and TOH (came with the planner)
Shopping list, one side has needs the other has wants (came with the planner) again a sheet for each Sirinadesigns and TOH.
Lined paper with a list of suppliers
Lined paper for contact numbers.

The 5th and final divider is notes
I have this separated into 2 sections using a vellum divider I made.
The first part is all things related to my business website (provider, payment date, payment amount, design, etc) and this blog (host, design, etc) plus any business information I read or hear that I think I will need in future (google analytics help for instance)
The second part is just a place for me to leave random notes and thoughts.

At the back of the planner I have added some inserts from a Filofax I have, these are the numbered tabs.
I have 6 of them – the first 3 have a project planner insert (that I made myself) to help me keep track of what I am working on for Sirinadesigns as I always have more than one thing on the go (this helps limit me to 3 at a time) and can sometimes forget what I have left to buy for it or do to finish the project. The other 3 are for bespoke customers so that I can keep track of what they are having made along with all the notes required to complete their dresses.

Then I just have a Filofax zippered pocket that holds my sticky notes.
The pocket at the very back is used for loose leaf notes I make but I am looking for a small notebook I can slid in there for keeping a more detailed record of all my blog posts.

If you have read this far thank you for sticking with my ramblings.

Do any of you use a business planner?
If so what do you use and how do you use it?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment